Finder makes money from featured partners, but editorial opinions are our own.

Tigerair review: Sydney to Melbourne

Get a flying start to the new year.

With no plans for the new year, I tagged on a friend’s holiday (sorry!) and set off for Melbourne for a chill and quiet one.

Even though it was at the last second, there were still numerous flights available for my dates, and being a budget traveller, I chose Tigerair as it offered the most affordable trip: $200 return flying out at 6am on a Monday morning and back by 11pm on the Wednesday.

Here's how it all went down.

Tigerair details

  • Route: Sydney to Melbourne, return
  • Duration: 1 hour, 30 minutes
  • Flight Number(s): TT207 and TT282
  • Aircraft Type: Boeing 320
  • Dates Travelled: 31 December 2018 and 2 January 2019
  • Class: Economy
  • Frequent Flyer Program: None
  • Points earned: None

Stephanie's review: ★★★★☆

  • Cost: Flights were well priced for peak season dates.
  • Timeliness: Flights departed relatively on time, and if they didn't, an explanation was given.
  • Baggage: Tigerair is more lenient around bag checking than it lets on. Staff didn't weigh bags on my departing flight (it was only a third full). However, they did on the way back where the plane was full.
  • Check-in: The website was refusing to let me change my seat, so I eventually gave in and accepted by fate in the back row. Not the best option, to be honest.

What did I like?

  • Cost: I wasn't sure what to expect regarding flight prices given that I was booking flights two weeks before New Year's, but Tigerair took me for a 3-day trip to Melbourne for $200 return. While that's around double the typical Sydney-Melbourne fare, I feel it's fairly reasonable for the season.
  • Empty flight on the way out: My departure flight was about a third full. I still didn't get three seats to myself, but my fellow row-traveller and I had an empty seat between us, which was pleasant.
  • There was an explanation for our delay: The pilot remarked during our flight that we were going to arrive 30 minutes behind schedule due to turbulence. I don't know if this was a valid excuse, but I do know that we left on time (in fact, we were sitting on the tarmac for a while because we'd boarded so quickly) and there definitely was turbulence in the air.
  • They are sometimes lenient with weighing carry-on bags. As with every Australian airline now, Tigerair weighs carry-on luggage to make sure you comply with their weight allowances. They didn't do this on departure, but I think that's because we were only one-third full so there was no need to be sticklers about it. However, my flight on the way back was full so there was a staff member at the line to board checking those bags. This was done very efficiently, and as far as I saw, only one person got pulled aside so clearly people have gotten the message about the new rules.

What didn’t I like?

  • Legroom: These weren't the roomiest seats I've sat on, but it is a budget airline so it's not a big complaint.
  • Check-in: This was fine on the way in, but might have been because I didn't want to change my seat. On the way back, Tigerair shafted me all the way at the very back in seat 30A beside two other passengers. When I tried to change it during check-in, it kept giving me an error. I finally gave up and accepted my seat begrudgingly.

Would I use Tigerair again?

I have no great qualms with Tigerair. They're budget and they act budget with slimline seats, a strict carry-on baggage policy and charges for any on-board entertainment or food, neither of which I purchased. Would I fly with Tigerair again? At this price and service, sure.


Tigerair flight deals and sales:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Deal

Mid Season Sale: Up to 50% fashion, beauty, home and more

Score huge discount on women's, men's & kids' clothing, homewares, toys, beauty brands, tech and more at Myer. Hurry, limited time only. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

15% off every car, everyday

Available on all dates in select locations including Adelaide, Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast, Hobart, Melbourne and Sydney. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

10% off adventures with code

Get 10% off if you spend over $350 using the code at Adrenaline. Available on select dates for activities like jet boat rides, skydives, park admissions, day tours, and more. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

10% off activities with code

Available on select dates on destinations including Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Melbourne, Perth and Hobart. Minimum spend of $300 required. Activities include hot air balloon flights, skydives and high teas. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

7% off activities + 10% cashback

Use the code to get a 7% discount, plus enjoy 10% cashback on all your purchases at Backpacker Deals. T&Cs apply.
Deal exclusive

10% off select activities

Available on hot air balloon flights, skydiving, lunch cruises, jet boat rides and attraction passes on Featherdale Sydney Wildlife Park, SkyPoint Observation Deck, SEA LIFE Aquarium, Madame Tussauds and more. Minimum spend of $350 is required. T&Cs apply.
Deal

100% off return flights on select holiday packages

Fly for free when you book your flight and hotel together with select Australia holiday packages at Wotif. T&Cs, exclusions apply.
Deal

Up to 25% off Europe summer getaway trips

Explore the best of Europe in summer and save up to 25% off your trips. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 10% off for Privilege Club members

Get up to 10% off on flights when you signup and become a Privilege Club member with a code. Available for travel until 31 March 2024. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 10% off early bird rentals

Expires 31 Mar 2025
Available from and to all locations on Let's Go Motorhomes rentals booked 90 days in advance. Minimum 7-day hire. Offer applicable for new bookings only. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 30% off last-minute escapes

Available on stays within the next 14 days. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Sunshine Coast, Brisbane and Canberra. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 25% off domestic deals

Available on select travel dates and select properties across Australia. T&Cs apply.
Deal

7% off hotel and flight bookings

Get 7% off hotel and flight bookings with a minimum spend of $350. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 35% off domestic and international hotel stays

Available for booking on select dates and select locations. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 90% off on select international Klook Passes and Value Packs

Available on select tour packages. Sample discount is for All-in-One Taiwan Value Pack. Other tour packages include Malaysia, Hong Kong, Singapore, Thailand, Japan, Korea and Europe. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Campervan hire from $1 per day + FREE fuel allowance

Available on select routes, dates and locations in Australia, including Darwin, Alice Springs, Cairns and Brisbane and New Zealand.
Deal

Up to 55% off international tours

Available for travel on select dates. Destinations include Australia, New Zealand, the USA, Greece, Japan, and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 60% off airport parking in Australia

Available on select dates. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Cairns, and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 65% off Sydney dining experiences

Save up to 65% with select food and drink vouchers on offer at Groupon. Limited time offer. T&Cs apply.
Deal

12-month Multi city Entertainment membership from $119

Available on select dates. Includes 2 months free membership. 20% goes to your chosen fundraiser. T&Cs apply.
Deal

12-month Single city Entertainment membership from $69

Available on select dates. Includes 2 months free membership. 20% goes to your chosen fundraiser. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 81% off things to do

Available on purchases including dining experiences, cinema tickets, indoor skydives, attraction passes, spas, getaways and teeth whitening.
Deal

Hot deals on selected experiences

Verified 5 days ago
Enjoy huge discounts on selected day tours, attractions, cruises, and other activities for the whole family at Experience Oz. Limited time offer. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 20% off your resort stay

Expires 18 Apr 2024
Be an IHG One Rewards member and exclusively enjoy up to 20% off and complimentary breakfast daily when you stay 3 or more nights at selected IHG Hotels & Resorts in Australasia, Japan, Micronesia, the South Pacific, Southeast Asia, Hong Kong and Taiwan. Find your paradise, where will you go?
Code

Get 10% off on Tick travel insurance policies

Use this code to get a 10% discount. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 52% off Australia hotel getaways

Available for travel on select dates to Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Launceston, Newcastle, Noosa Heads, Cairns, NSW and more.
Deal

Up to 20% off motorhome rentals

Save up to 20% on motorhome and campervan rentals from Let's Go Motorhomes, Apollo, GoCheap, Star RV, Cruisin and more at Motorhome Republic. Limited time offer. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 33% off Australia holiday packages

Available on select dates when you book your hotel and flights together. Destinations include Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney, and Gold Coast. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

5% off select activities

Available on activities like hot air balloon flights, skydiving, lunch cruises, passes to attractions including Featherdale Sydney Wildlife Park, SkyPoint Observation Deck, SEA LIFE Aquarium, Madam Tussauds and more. Minimum spend of $300 is required. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get 5% off activities with code

Available when you spend a minimum of $250 on activities such as hot air balloon flights, rally driving, skydives, high teas and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, the Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth and Hobart. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 49% off on select Aussie accommodations

Book your accommodations at Wotif and get up to 48% discount on select bookings. Limited time offer. T&Cs apply.
Deal

30% off extra baggage

Purchase extra baggage allowance at least 6 hours before your flight and save 30% at Etihad Airways. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to $3900 off holiday deals

Experience popular adventures in your favorite destinations around the world. Huge discount awaits at Flight Centre. TC&s apply.
Deal

As low as $29 on Australia tours, sightseeing and cruises

Save on selected tours and cruises in Australia with these special offers at Viator. Book for as low as $29. Limited time offer. T&Cs, exclusions apply.
Deal

Up to 84% off Carnival Cruises from Brisbane

Discount applies on brochure price of select Carnival Cruise vacations. Valid on select 3- to 7-night Carnival Cruises departing Brisbane on select dates for 2024. T&Cs apply.
Deal

3 nights at Intercontinental Adelaide with flights, breakfasts and full day wine tour for just $799pp

Enjoy a 3-night stay at Intercontinental Adelaide (valued at $1,299) for only $799pp. Deal includes return flights, daily breakfast, full day Barossa wine tour, with late checkout of 1pm & $1000 bonus value. Limited time offer. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Sydney bus tours from $65

Available on tours daily. Sample rate is for a classic ticket.
Deal

Only glass roof vessel at Piopiotahi / Milford Sound

Available for travel on select dates and locations. T&Cs apply.
Deal

2-hour cruises on Gem of the Sound

Available for travel on select dates and locations. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Guaranteed window seat on Fly Cruise Fly tours

Available for travel on select dates and locations. T&Cs apply.

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
19 Jan 2024 Up to 10% off for Privilege Club members PCA****
19 Jan 2024 Earn up to 5,000 bonus Avios PCA****
12 Jan 2023 Up to USD$25 off business class flight fees SFB****
2 Nov 2022 Up to US$30 off flight fees FLI****
8 Mar 2024 100% off return flights on select holiday packages ********

More guides on Finder Shopping

Go to site